Pilipa'a Volleyball

Pilipa’a now 4-2 and in the hunt for the gold

Houston, Texas – The Pilipa’a Boys’ 18’s finished day 2 with a 2-1 record and have advanced to the third round  and are still in contention for the gold medal at in the 18’s club division of the 2014 USA Volleyball Boys’ Junior National Championship at the George R. Brown Convention Center  in Houston, Texas.

Pilipa’a began the day with a 2-0 (25-21, 25-19) win over 35th seeded Diablo Green 18-2 of Northern California.  The boys’ had to overcome a slow start and battled  through a tough second match to earn a 2-1 (22-25, 25-23, 15-9) win over  20th seeded SG Elite 18 of Southern California.  The third match of the day proved to be the toughest as Pilipa’a faced 2nd seeded OCVC 18 Hurley.  Pilipa’a jumped out early against the tall team from Southern California and took game one 25-23.  Passing and hitting errors early in games two and three led to a 2-1 match loss (25-23, 21-25, 11-15).

“I’m proud of how these boys have come together in the spirit of “Pilipa’a.” They continue to improve in each match that we play. We’re not a big team, but we play with a lot of heart and play together which makes us a dangerous team in this tournament,” said Pilipa’a Head Coach Ecko Osorio. “We’ll have to work harder tomorrow, but they boys continue to find a way to keep themselves in the hunt for the gold, added Osorio.

UPDATE:  Pilipa’a faces Fog Black 18’s today (Monday) at 3pm CDT (10am HST) followed by Seaside Black 18’s of Southern California at 4pm CDT (11am HST).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *